The 6000 signatory petition opposing the forced merger of Shellharbour and Wollongong City Councils has been formally lodged with the Legislative Assembly.

The petition will be formally recorded on the Legislative Assembly Hansard later this afternoon following Question Time.

The petition was presented to Member for Shellharbour Anna Watson by the Mayor, Shellharbour City Council, Councillor Marianne Saliba.

Ms Watson met with the Minister for Local Government, Paul Toole MP last Wednesday morning to discuss the forced merger, and to let him see the petition personally before she tabled it in the State Parliament.

Comments attributable to Anna Watson MP:

“Formally lodging the petition to be tabled in the Legislative Assembly later today shows the depth of feeling held by Shellharbour City residents strongly opposed to the Government’s forced merger agenda.

“It comes on top of the strong vote opposing the forced merger of Kiama Municipal Council with Shoalhaven City Council over the weekend.

“The Government has now received overwhelming feedback from the Illawarra community that its forced amalgamation agenda for local councils in the region is not on and is strongly opposed.

“The Government must now listen to the Illawarra community and withdraw its plans to force the merger of Illawarra councils.”


10 May 2016