The Shellharbour Electorate

The Shellharbour electorate was created in the previous 2004 redistribution of electoral districts, and was first contested in the 2007 NSW election. It has remained a strongly-held Labor seat since that time.   

It encompasses part of the City of Shellharbour, as far south as Flinders (including Shellharbour, Warilla, Barrack Heights, Barrack Point, Oak Flats, Mount Warrigal and Blackbutt) and the southwestern edge of the City of Wollongong (including Dapto, Kanahooka, Koonawarra, Horsley, Penrose and Yallah).

Shellharbour electorate map:















Click here to see a map of the electorate in more detail.

Provincial, residential, industrial.
Located within Illawarra Statistical Agricultural Subdivision.

Principal suburbs include:
Albion Park Rail, Avon, Avondale, Balarang, Barrack Heights, Barrack Point, Blackbutt, Brownsville, Cleveland, Dapto, Dombarton, Dunmore, Farmborough Heights, Flinders, Haywards Bay, Horsley, Huntley, Kanahooka, Kembla Grange, Kembla Heights, Koonawarra, Lake Illawarra, Lake South, Mount Warrigal, Oak Flats, Penrose, Shell Cove, Shellharbour, Shellharbour City Centre, Warilla, Wongawilli, Yallah.

Postcodes: 2526, 2527, 2528, 2529, 2530

Local Government Areas: Parts of Shellharbour and Wollongong

Area: 292.39 sq km
Population: 65,743.
Enrolment: 58,131

Census Statistics: Visit the Australian Bureau of Statistics page here.

In accordance with the Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Act 1912, the NSW electorate boundaries were redistributed at the 2015 NSW state election.
The new SHELLHARBOUR electorate now contains parts of former electoral districts of Shellharbour, Keira, Kiama and Wollongong.
For more information on electoral boundaries and redistributions visit the NSWEC website.

How the electorate voted in 2015:
The Shellharbour electorate 2015 election results saw a further 9% swing to Labor since the 2011 election. View a breakdown of the election results.